BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

questions and answer about OFP/ArmA editing

BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby Jakester808 » Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:43 pm

Hello everyone.
I've been a fan of BE Warfare since early Arma 2, and have managed to find BE Warfare in Arma 3. However, I would like to make some changes to the Vehicles and Weapons within it, but am unsure of the structure.

Specifically, I am trying to add the Hatchback Sport to buildable vehicles. (C_Hatchback_01_sport_F)

- I started by changing
Benny_Warfare_0_9_0_.Altis\Common\Config\Units\Units_West.sqf

Which looks like this : (Changes in [b] tags)
Code: Select all
_c = []; //--- Classname
_p = []; //--- Picture.             '' = auto generated.
_n = []; //--- Name.                '' = auto generated.
_o = []; //--- Price.
_t = []; //--- Build time.
_u = []; //--- Upgrade level needed.    0 1 2 3...
_f = []; //--- Built from Factory.
_s = []; //--- Script


_c = _c + ['B_Quadbike_01_F'];
_p = _p + [''];
_n = _n + [''];
_o = _o + [75];
_t = _t + [10];
_u = _u + [0];
_f = _f + [CTI_FACTORY_LIGHT];
_s = _s + [""];

[b]_c = _c + ['C_Hatchback_01_sport_F'];
_p = _p + [''];
_n = _n + [''];
_o = _o + [400];
_t = _t + [10];
_u = _u + [0];
_f = _f + [CTI_FACTORY_LIGHT];
_s = _s + [""];[/b]


Simple change right? I'm not sure if the classnames are being referenced from somewhere else, therefore it being more complicated then this? But I noticed that "Benny_Warfare_0_9_0_.Altis\Common\Config\Factories\Factory_West" has some namespace declarations : (Changes in [b] tags)

Code: Select all
//--- Units - Barracks
_u          = ["B_soldier_AR_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_Soldier_A_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_exp_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_Soldier_GL_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_M_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_medic_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_Soldier_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_PG_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_engineer_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_sniper_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_repair_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_LAT_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_AA_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_soldier_AT_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_spotter_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_Helipilot_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_crew_F"];
missionNamespace setVariable [format ["CTI_%1_%2Units", _side, CTI_BARRACKS], _u];

_u          = ["B_Quadbike_01_F"];
[b]_u          = ["C_Hatchback_01_sport_F"];[/b]
_u = _u      + ["B_Truck_01_transport_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_MRAP_01_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_MRAP_01_hmg_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_MRAP_01_gmg_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_UGV_01_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_UGV_01_rcws_F"];


missionNamespace setVariable [format ["CTI_%1_%2Units", _side, CTI_LIGHT], _u];

_u          = ["B_APC_Wheeled_01_cannon_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_APC_Tracked_01_rcws_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_APC_Tracked_01_AA_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_MBT_01_cannon_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_MBT_01_arty_F"];
_u = _u      + ["B_MBT_01_mlrs_F"];

missionNamespace setVariable [format ["CTI_%1_%2Units", _side, CTI_HEAVY], _u];


- Will I be needing to add the Hatchback Sport classname to these? My issue is I don't understand the use of _u.

So as it stands, my issue is that adding the Hatchback Sport to the Units_West as well as Factory_West results in the server freezing at the loading screen. And unless it is the result of something else OTHER then my changes, I have reason to believe it is because of me.
Its also worth noting that when I load the original file onto the server, it loads fine.

On an unrelated note, if you have a bug tracker for the Arma 3 BE, I'd love a link to it. Already my friend and I have played a solid 50 hours since the Arma 3 full release, and will be able to point out a few bugs.
And on that note, thanks so much for reading my issues!

Warfare Forever!
- Jacob
Jakester808
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:26 pm
 

Re: BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby Fu$ion » Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:48 pm

try this

_u = _u + ["C_Hatchback_01_sport_F"];

The first _u creates an array, then _u = _u + adds extra items to that array.

WFBE for Arma3 is not finished because of a lack of units ( and a crap island ), so it is work in progress, please don't run a public server with a modified WFBE. It is not ready for the public yet ( unless Benny says it is :) )

Sorry for the late reply , i've been in prison for the last 3 months.
User avatar
Fu$ion
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:38 pm
Location: Leicester GB
 

Re: BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby Jakester808 » Fri Sep 20, 2013 11:42 pm

Hmm, So I tried what you have suggested, adding "_u = _u + ["C_Hatchback_01_sport_F"];" under Factory_West.sqf .
The issue persists, and when I loaded the PBO for testing, I was unable to access the Commander HQ menu to build. Is there perhaps more then these 2 files that require changing?

PS, I respect the development phase of BE Warfare, and we will not create a public server until it is released officially.

Thanks for the help so far!
- Jakester

EDIT
After reviewing the sqf file, the line
Code: Select all
missionNamespace setVariable [format["CTI_%1_Vehicles_Startup", _side], ["B_Truck_01_transport_F", "B_MRAP_01_F"]];
sticks out. Is it because the object I am using falls under the Civilian namespace, and not West? IE Mine is C_[Object] and not B_[Object]
Jakester808
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 4:26 pm
 

Re: BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby Fu$ion » Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:24 pm

Hmm, I'm working from memory and from my experience with WFBE in Arma2, the _u = _u + does work.
As this is a fresh rewrite of CTI and not strictly WFBE I am not familiar with any of the files ( have not even depbo'd to look at the mission as I am in Hungary without my main PC ).

The line you quote looks like it simply defines the starting vehicles, each side gets an MRAP and a truck.

Are you loading the hatchback model as an @addon or does A3 now have a hatchback car ?

If this version is anything like WFBE for Arma2 then the car needs to be defined in /Factory_West and in /Units_West.


I'll be back in England on the 26th, if you haven't fixed it by then :)
User avatar
Fu$ion
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:38 pm
Location: Leicester GB
 

Re: BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby ZeroG » Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:45 pm

Fu$ion wrote:
Sorry for the late reply , i've been in prison for the last 3 months.


Adultery?
Hotshots council member

Erfolg im Leben hat stets doppelt, wer Feuer und Bewegung koppelt!
User avatar
ZeroG
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:15 am
Location: Hamburg, GERMANY
 

Re: BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby Fu$ion » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:50 pm

meh, get on skype sometime :)
User avatar
Fu$ion
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 4:38 pm
Location: Leicester GB
 

Re: BE Warfare 0.9.0 Arma 3 - Adding Vehicles

Postby Benny » Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:35 pm

Late answer but those _u in factory define the Factory buy list (what you see) while the other one define the unit itself (price and stuff)

Code: Select all
_u          = ["C_Hatchback_01_sport_F"];


replace with

Code: Select all
_u = _u + ["C_Hatchback_01_sport_F"];


It's an array :)
Benny
 
Posts: 1877
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:31 pm
Location: France, Normandie
 

Return to Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron